All Blacks Win Third Successive Rugby Championship

The All Blacks have wrapped up their third successive Rugby Championship crown with a comprehensive 34-13 win over Argentina at Estadio Ciudad de La Plata.

First half tries to Ben Smith and Israel Dagg gave the All Blacks a 20-6 halftime lead, then Julian Savea and replacement halfback TJ Perenara crossed in the second spell to secure the bonus point win.

Four-Test centre Malakai Fekitoa (pictured) impressed in replacing injured second five-eighth Ma’a Nonu, looking defensively sound and dangerous with the ball in hand.

The All Blacks’ dominance up front gradually wore down Argentina as the second spell wore on, the New Zealanders capitalising on a series of turnovers and handling errors to keep the pressure on.

A flying Savea proved unstoppable from just inside the 22, latching onto Aaron Smith’s cutout pass down the left to bump off a series of ineffectual tackles and score.

The All Blacks now travel to Johannesburg for the final Rugby Championship match against South Africa at Ellis Park on October 5.

Original article by The Sydney Morning Herald, September 28, 2014.

Photo by REUTERS/Marcos Brindicci.

Tags: 2014 Rugby Championship  Aaron Smith  All Blacks  Argentina  Ben Smith  Israel Dagg  Julian Savea  Ma'a Nonu  Malakai Fekitoa  Sydney Morning Herald (The)  TJ Perenara  

Dunedin Swimmer Erika Fairweather Wins in Doha

Dunedin Swimmer Erika Fairweather Wins in Doha

Erika Fairweather has won her maiden swimming world championship title with victory in the women’s 400m freestyle final in Doha. The 20-year-old from Dunedin is the first New Zealander to win…