Racer Bruce McLaren Voted into Hall of Fame

Legendary constructor and driver, New Zealander Bruce McLaren has been inducted into the Auto Racing Hall of Fame at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS) Museum by a panel of journalists, participants and historians.

The Auto Racing Hall of Fame honours and celebrates individual contribution to the sport of automobile racing. It was founded in 1952 under the auspices of the Contest Board of the American Automobile Association (AAA) and was moved to the original IMS Museum in 1962.

The final verdict on 2017 inductees was selected from what was originally a 16-name list, and was announced on “Founders Day”, the 108th anniversary of the day the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Company was officially formed.

IMS president Doug Boles said: “Even decades after his passing, the name Bruce McLaren instantly conjures up vivid memories for racing enthusiasts around the world, whether they be for his Formula 1 driving days; for his analytical approach to racing; his decision to start up his own marque, when he could well have continued to drive for other people; his utter dominance, along with fellow New Zealander Denis Hulme, of the Can-Am series in the late 1960s; or for the legendary organisations he left behind which compiled multiple Formula 1 constructor championships and Indianapolis 500 wins.”

McLaren scored four Formula 1 wins as a driver, two Can-Am Series championships, and co-drove with New Zealand compatriot Chris Amon to conquer the 1966 24 Hours of Le Mans in a Ford GT40.

However, it is as a designer, constructor and engineer, and founder of one of racing’s iconic marques that he is best known. His Formula 1 team has captured eight constructors’ and 12 drivers’ championships, took 56 Can-Am wins between 1967 and 1972, and McLarens have also won Le Mans 24 Hours and the 12 Hours of Sebring.

In Indy car terms, McLaren-mounted drivers took three Indianapolis 500 wins (Mark Donohue in 1972, Johnny Rutherford in 1974 and 1976) and two championships (Roger McCluskey in 1973, Tom Sneva in 1977).

McLaren died in a crash at the Goodwood Circuit in England on 2 June 1970. He was 32.

Original article by David Malsher, Motorsport.com, March 20, 2017.

Tags: Auto Racing Hall of Fame  Bruce McLaren  Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS) Museum  Motorsport.com  

One Point Closer to Hall of Fame for Lydia Ko

One Point Closer to Hall of Fame for Lydia Ko

New Zealander Lydia Ko has started her new season in style with victory at Florida’s Hilton Grand Vacations Tournament of Champions on the LPGA Tour, Mike Hall reports for the UK…