New Zealand Drivers Come First and Second for Porsche in Le Mans 24 Hours Race

New Zealand racers Earl Bamber and Brendon Hartley, driving for Porsche, have come first and second in the Le Mans 24 Hours Race ending Audi’s five year winning streak.

The winning Porsche “had both pace and was trouble-free, running flawlessly from third on the grid to the finish”.

Earl Bamber, Brit Nick Tandy and German Nico Hülkenberg came first in the No19 Porsche 919 hybrid followed by sister car No17 with Brendon Hartley, Timo Bernhard and Mark Webber.

Bamber and Hülkenberg had never competed at the circuit before, which makes their win even more so impressive.

Last year’s winners André Lotterer, Marcel Fässler and Benoît Tréluyer for Audi came third. Audi experienced reliability problems during the night, which put No19 on top of the race.

Article Source: The Guardian, Giles Richards, June 14, 2015.

Image Source:

Tags: Brendon Hartley  Earl Bamber  Guardian (The)  Le Mans 24 Hours Race  Mark Webber  Nick Tandy  Nico Hülkenberg  No19 Porsche 919 hybrid  Porsche  Porsche 919 hybrid  Timo Bernhard  

Squash Superman Paul Coll Set on World Domination

Squash Superman Paul Coll Set on World Domination

Gravity-defying dive after lung-busting lunge, they called him ‘Superman’ as he captivated crowds around the globe. Now, history-maker, Greymouth-born Paul Coll, is on top of the world at number one and…